By: Melanie | December 2, 2014 | (23) Comments

Review: Fury by Shirley MarrFury by Shirley Marr
Publisher: Walker Books Australia
Release Date: May 1, 2010
Genres: Contemporary, Mystery, YA
Pages: 280
Source: Gifted
Goodreads | Purchase

Let me tell you my story.
Not just the facts I know you want to hear.
If I’m going to tell you my story,
I’m telling it my way.

Strap yourself in...

Eliza Boans has everything.
A big house.
A great education.
A bright future.

So why is she sitting in a police station confessing to murder?

Shirley Marr is officially another favourite author of mine. And, she also happens to be an Aussie author, who would’ve guessed?

I swapped my heart for a bargaining chip a long time ago. And here I am turning it over and over again in my hand, not sure what to trade it in for.

Fury goes down as one of those books that I find severely underhyped. I actually had not heard of Shirley Marr’s novels until she approached me about reviewing them, which I am incredibly ashamed of. I mean, WHERE HAVE THESE BOOKS BEEN ALL MY LIFE? I probably enjoyed Preloved a little more than Fury but I still was thoroughly entertained by Fury as well. This book gives us an endless supply of fabulous writing, wit, fantastic characters and drama and not a single page goes to waste.

Fury is told, alternating from the present tense to the past tense. The book opens up with Eliza Boans, who has just confessed to a murder. She’s had the perfect life, and this story unravels the story as to why Eliza and her friends did what they did. And this is the main plot line that goes on through this novel, but there are also other minor ones too to keep the story constantly interesting such as unveiling Eliza’s back bones and her inner fury.

Eliza Boans the exact heroine everyone hates. Bitchy, filthy rich and just plain rude; she’s got an attitude and she isn’t sorry about it–not one bit.

Despite that being said, if anything, it makes this book even better than it already is. It’s a rare when you have an unlikable narrator, but you like the book anyway. It just goes to prove how talented Ms. Marr is, and makes us fall in love with a book with total ass characters. That being said, Eliza did start to get under my skin by the end of the book, I loved her rage and fury as it was so fascinating to see unravel on the pages.

Eliza and her friends have such an interesting relationship. They look like the tightest close-knit friend’s you’ll ever meet, but they have their own rivalries and flaws too. 

Admittedly, this book is a lot about the high school drama, but for me, Marr depicted it in the bestest (it’s a word, don’t tell me otherwise) way possible. Sure, there’s mean girls and a whole load of drama, but it was handled in such a non-annoying and realistic way, and I’m sure many people who have also read this book would agree.

In all, Fury is a novel I highly recommend. It is the epitome of Aussie YA literature, and is perfect for fans of Melina Marchetta. 

~Thank you Shirley Marr for gifting me this copy!~

4 Stars
The following two tabs change content below.

Melanie

Owner (and crazy nut) at YA Midnight Reads
Melanie is one of the totally fabulous bloggers at YA Midnight Reads. She's a 16 year old student from Melbourne, Australia. She is normally found binge watching TV series, reading , blogging, procrastinating or fangirling about how Percabeth is the best ship ever. She's also a lover of caps lock and uses it excessively.

Want more posts like this?

Subscribe via email to receive new posts on book reviews, bookish giveaways, discussions and more!

23 Responses to Review: Fury by Shirley Marr

  1. Rebecca says:

    I’ve yet to read a Shirley Marr book, even though Preloved sits on my shelf. I’ve heard good things about this and I’m always wanting to read and support Aussie books. Maybe I’ll finally get to this in 2015! Great review and I’m off to read your Preloved review!
    Rebecca recently posted…Top Ten Books I’m Anticipating In 2015My Profile

    • Melanie says:

      Thank you Rebecca.

      I highly recommend that you read Marr’s novels. She’s a fantastic author, and yes, supporting Aussie authors is the only way of life.

  2. I’ve heard really great things about this book Melanie, I need to make time to give it a try! I read Preloved and enjoyed it, so I already know I’m a fan of her writing and storytelling. Glad the mean girls and drama have a realistic feel rather than being annoyingly over the top! Lovely review:)

  3. Glass says:

    I didn’t know that she is Aussie writer! Instant bump up on my reading list!
    Glass recently posted…Movie Review – Mockingjay, Part IMy Profile

  4. Rashika says:

    I’ve heard so many good things about Shirley’s works and the fact that she is aussie definitely helps! I’ve always been tempted by the book whenever I walk into a book store and see it staring at me from it’s spot on the shelves daring me to buy it but I always turn around. I feel like I really need to get my life together and read this one.

    It really sounds a lot gritter than what you would usually find out there and while I am not fond of mean girls and drama, I get the feeling that it won’t bother me as much in this case!

    I am really glad to hear you enjoyed this one, Mel! 🙂

    Fantastic review <3
    Rashika recently posted…ARC Review: Archie Greene and the Magician’s Secret by D.D. EverestMy Profile

    • Melanie says:

      Yeah, I hate mean girls normally, but this was so not the case! I loved that it was included, in fact. The drama had so many layers–t’was truly perfection. Thanks, Rashika <33

  5. This is totally new to me, but the cover and synopsis drew me in right away. While high school drama is so not my thing, the mystery of why she is confessing to murder and how realistic you state this is has me curious! I love discovering new authors. Awesome find Melanie.
    kimbacaffeinate recently posted…The Incredible Charlotte Sycamore and the Secret Traps by Kate MaddisonMy Profile

  6. I read this two or was it three years ago, it was a trip. I actually had Shirley guest post with me and she provided an epilogue on my blog.
    Heidi@Rainy Day Ramblings recently posted…Tell Me Something Tuesday #80: Favorite Conclusions from 2014My Profile

  7. Well, I know it’s good when you give it such a high rating. XD I’ll add this to my TBR.
    Bieke @ Istyria book blog recently posted…What Tomorrow Brings: None of the Above by I.W. GregorioMy Profile

  8. Lyn Kaye says:

    Arg! I have wanted this book for such a long time! I’m so glad you brought it back up! I need to go look for it.

    Lovely review. I get into a Mean Girls mood and it leaves me always wanting a little more.
    Lyn Kaye recently posted…Top Ten Tuesday: 2015 Releases We’re Excited ForMy Profile

  9. SHIRLEY MARR IS JUST AMAZING. And that is all. *nods* I think I loved Preloved more (proabably The Princess Bride references are the reason. 😉 Buuuut, this book was seriously weird and disturbing and wonderful. It’s been years since I read it though, I totally feel like a reread.
    I’m impressed that Eliza could be such an awful person but still an amazing narrator that totally hooked me in. Of course: MURDER. I love mysteries. ^-^
    Cait @ Paper Fury recently posted…Guest Post: Characters vs Me by Amanda @ Book BadgerMy Profile

  10. Melliane says:

    I think it’s the first time I hear about this book but I so love the cover! It’s so nice to find a book and an author like that, isn’t it? Now I’m curious!
    Melliane recently posted…Silverblind by Tina ConnollyMy Profile

  11. It’s sad to find a good book that no one’s heard of. What a cool way to do a mystery, starting at the end. Yep, Eliza sounds like someone I wouldn’t like all right. That is a talent to write a great book with an unlikable main character. Yeah I don’t like the drama either, but I’m glad still good.
    Molly Mortensen recently posted…Indie Book Review: Elemental Rancor by Charles LominecMy Profile

  12. Pingback: Aussie Authors with an A | FictionisMagic

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge