By: Celine | February 8, 2014 | (20) Comments

Review: Maybe One Day by Melissa KantorMaybe One Day by Melissa Kantor
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: February 18, 2014
Genres: Contemporary, Drama, YA
Source: Received in exchange for review
Goodreads | Purchase

Zoe and her best friend, Olivia, have always had big plans for the future, none of which included Olivia getting sick. Still, Zoe is determined to put on a brave face and be positive for her friend.

Even when she isn't sure what to say.

Even when Olivia misses months of school.

Even when Zoe starts falling for Calvin, Olivia's crush.

The one thing that keeps Zoe moving forward is knowing that Olivia will beat this, and everything will go back to the way it was before. It has to. Because the alternative is too terrifying for her to even imagine.

In this incandescent page-turner, which follows in the tradition of The Fault in Our Stars, Melissa Kantor artfully explores the idea that the worst thing to happen to you might not be something that is actually happening to you. Raw, irreverent, and honest, Zoe's unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.

How do I even begin this review? I honestly have no idea what to say about Maybe One Day. It’s one of those books that I just can’t review properly, no matter how hard I try to. I just… I don’t know, guys. Just read this.

As we get from the synopsis, Maybe One Day is about Zoe, whose friend Olivia gets sick. Gravely sick. Olivia has a very aggressive form of cancer. Throughout the story, we closely follow Olivia’s progress and we see and hear about all the kinds of treatment she endures. I hadn’t expected this, although I don’t really know why. Either way, we read a lot about the things Olivia has to do and the effects of these treatments on her. I actually really liked this aspect of the story, because it showed us the graveness of Olivia’s sickness, but also the hope and the pain that comes with it.

Both Zoe and Olivia were great characters. Their friendship is true. Do you know all those ‘best friends’ in YA novels that actually do nothing but backstab and go to parties et cetera while the MC stays home? Don’t worry, you won’t find that in Maybe One Day. Olivia and Zoe are best friends and you can feel it. You see the evidence all around. I absolutely loved the strength of their friendship and the way they helped each other.

What I also really loved were the cheerleaders. Granted, they are painted off a bit as empty-headed giggling girls, but they also had this fierce loyalty towards Olivia. Throughout the story, they are always there for both Olivia and Zoe, and they set up campaigns and other such things in order to raise money for a foundation. I especially loved the part where Zoe set a certain thing up on the day Olivia comes back to school, and all the cheerleaders just went with it. They never complained about ‘having’ to do anything, no: they threw themselves into it with more enthusiasm than you can imagine. You can really feel how they want to support Olivia in every way, and I just really loved how Kantor reinvented the cliché group of cheerleaders.

Then there’s the romance. While I admit I kinda sorta shipped Zoe with Jake, the romance with Calvin was really sweet. Calvin isn’t a jerk or a bad boy, but he also isn’t one of those sappy soft guys. He’s inbetween, or maybe I should call it realistic. He behaves like a teenage boy without looking like a total asshole. It’s a thing we don’t see often in YA these days, and Kantor really pulled it off. The chemistry between Zoe and Calvin was also there, and it was believable. I really loved the way their relationship built up and also how it didn’t take over the story. The romance is there, but Maybe One Day is mainly about the friendship between Olivia and Zoe and the way they both handle Olivia’s sickness.

In all, this was a really really good read. A story of true friendship – in health and in sickness -, Maybe One Day wove various elements together to make a beautiful and heartbreaking story.

~Thank you HarperTeen for sending me this copy!~

4.5 Stars
The following two tabs change content below.
Celine is 17 years old and from the Netherlands. Quite obviously, she loves books! She has been a reader for as long as she can remember, and she believes she will be a reader forever. Celine is also obsessed with food, and loves singing along to music as loud as possible, dancing and doodling on nearly everything.

Want more posts like this?

Subscribe via email to receive new posts on book reviews, bookish giveaways, discussions and more!

20 Responses to Review: Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor

  1. I’m not sure how I’d be able to get through reading this. My mom was diagnosed last year, but she’s done with chemo and we’re hoping it wouldn’t come back. I probably would bawl my eyes out reading about her treatments and struggles. Thanks for the review. Maybe I’ll read it, because books like these are worth reading. 🙂
    Dre @ Sporadic Reads recently posted…Book Review 124 : Unhinged (Splintered #2) by A.G. HowardMy Profile

  2. Melanie says:

    I pretty much agree with everything you said there Celine! I was pretty much a mess when I reached the last chapter. And the romance…so freaking SWEET!

    Fabulous review, hun! <33

  3. Aimee says:

    I’m also currently reading this one, but just a few chapters in! It’s good to know that they still stay really good friends throughout the novel, and that we have a realistic love interest! 🙂 Great review, Celine.
    Aimee recently posted…Review: The Shadow Society by Marie RutkoskiMy Profile

  4. yes totally agree with you! zoe and olivia’s friendship was so sweet and true that you couldn’t help but love them. also the cheerleaders were a great addition with how sweet they were. the ending was also pure perfection, and i pretty much agree with you 100%. fantastic review, celine! <33

    (sorry for the lack of capitalization I've been commenting on my phone since i have no internet or cable :()
    Eileen @ Singing and Reading in the Rain recently posted…The Real Prom Queens of Westfield High by Laurie Boyle Crompton Blog TourMy Profile

  5. Emily Mead says:

    Great review! Definitely one to look out for. The only problem I have with it is the title – it seems so similar to a lot of other contemporary books.
    Emily Mead recently posted…What Happened This Week: Irish Accents and Swimming CarnivalsMy Profile

  6. Shai W says:

    This one sounds so good! I can’t wait to get a copy when it comes out to the bookstores. Your review is really convincing–I don’t read a lot of contemporary however I feel that I need to give this one a go.

  7. Sounds like a heart warming book! I thought it would be really sad but I love the feeling of support here. And yes, that best friend dynamic that you described is in the book that I’m reading at the moment but all these girls do is backstab each other! Sounds like there’s a genuine friendship in this one. Lovely review!
    Jeann @ Happy Indulgence recently posted…Stacking the Shelves #19 – CRESS!My Profile

  8. Eugenia says:

    Lovely review Melanie 🙂 This definitely looks like a heartfelt novel that I am looking forward to reading when I get the chance !
    Eugenia recently posted…Discussion: Top Female ProtagonistsMy Profile

  9. I think this is the first positive review I’ve seen from my trusted friends! I remember reading a review somewhere else that said the heroine was very flaky and insensitive and remember becoming wary of it. I think I may have to reconsider that now given your rating!
    Faye @ The Social Potato recently posted…ARC Review: Half Bad (Half Life #1) by Sally GreenMy Profile

    • Celine says:

      Yup, I’ve seen those reviews as well! I can’t say I really disagree with them; I think it hinges on how you interpret certain phrases and actions. I personally thought she just used some dark humor, but if you see certain sentences as serious, they’re really not okay. I presonally interpreted it as dark humor, meant to distract Olivia and let her smile a little, but that’s really a personal thing. I hope you end up loving it, but it could very well be that you’ll hate Zoe!

  10. Alise says:

    Gah! I need this now. I requested a copy but I don’t think I was approved. Seems like a really emotional book, which I have been into lately.
    Alise recently posted…Review: The Sea of Tranquility by Katja MillayMy Profile

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge