By: Melanie | July 30, 2013 | (25) Comments

Review: All Our Yesterdays by Cristin TerrillAll Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill
Series: Cassandra Chronicles, #1
Publisher: Bloomsbury Australia
Release Date: August 1, 2013
Genres: Romance, Science Fiction, YA
Pages: 362
Source: Received in exchange for review
Goodreads | Purchase

A brilliantly brain-warping thriller and a love story that leaps back and forth in time - All Our Yesterdays is an amazing first novel, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games.

Em is locked in a bare, cold cell with no comforts. Finn is in the cell next door. The Doctor is keeping them there until they tell him what he wants to know. Trouble is, what he wants to know hasn't happened yet.

Em and Finn have a shared past, but no future unless they can find a way out. The present is torture - being kept apart, overhearing each other's anguish as the Doctor relentlessly seeks answers. There's no way back from here, to what they used to be, the world they used to know. Then Em finds a note in her cell which changes everything. It's from her future self and contains some simple but very clear instructions. Em must travel back in time to avert a tragedy that's about to unfold. Worse, she has to pursue and kill the boy she loves to change the future.

‘But it’s the last line that makes me scramble for the toilet in the corner of my cell.
You have to kill him.’

I guess it’s no lie that I am an absolute stingy person when it comes to giving out 5 stars. To me, they are the rarest gems of the pile. Being this, I believe I should be permitted to just throw confetti across the room and say, “READ THIS BOOK AND I WILL LOVE YOU AND YOU WILL LOVE ME! It’s a double deal!” So that’s what I’ll do. With a death threat added to the end, don’t forget. But of course, if you cannot resist my awesomeness, read on.

All Our Yesterdays broke me, tore me into shreds. I’m still shocked. I’m still dazed. I’m still mind bended into awkward places. I’m still shipping James and Marina. And I’m still clasping onto Em and Finn’s hands, not letting go. All Our Yesterdays burned into my stomach, churned a hole that’s still there. Entwined with assassination attacks, politics, romance, strong characters and an enormous amount of imagination, Cristin Terrill debut is not to be missed and will sweep readers off their feet. Miss out on this novel and you will regret it.

A brief summary of this novel is that we have three main characters, who in which create six main characters in all. Don’t get it? Good. Otherwise you’ll be hunting me down if I explained any further. The book opens up to Em, who’s closest neighbour is Finn, fellow imprisoned victim, with desperate searches for escape, Em finds a list. It’s full, and all have been crossed out except one. She has told herself to kill her past love. To save the world. To save herself. Utterly suspenseful till the last page, All Our Yesterdays can also hint about another paradoxically ambiguous question, how does each action affect our future? Our tomorrows?

With really only three main characters, Terrill accomplishes well with her limited selection. All I couldn’t help but grow to admire. There is Em, who’s narration is one of determination, humour and heart. James, reserved and complete nerd. And Finn, oh Finn, sweet, sarcastic and wholly deep. The way these three developed together and unravelled the story was captivating, I could truly feel emotions reflecting off their eyes into mine. So genuine and heart breaking.

All Our Yesterdays may be plot driven, however our subplot unequivocally stands with the friendship and romances illustrated. Craftily and conducted with fantastic dynamics, Terrill clearly knows what she’s doing, it’s magnificent beyond words. While there is a hint of a love triangle, my usual rush of eye rolls did not appear due to how complex this relationship was and how, at the same time, was just a trio of best friends. While Em, Finn and James may not all get it their way in the end, giggles erupted and tears were shed. The depth of the connections in All Our Yesterdays simply can’t be further pressed upon.

In terms of world building and wiring, Terrill has excelled. I didn’t feel blind when reading this novel- I could construct the world that Terrill set as a foundation- I could sense the wider image sharper and more concise, the details and information of this This sci-fi, war tainted world wasn’t dumped but slowly shredded, so strategically. All Our Yesterdays’ writing is something to be commended for.  It’s heart breaking and confronting. Raw and loving. Terrill’s writing is chilling, scaring and completely beautiful.

A well plotted and drawn world with a fantastic handful of characters, All Our Yesterdays overwhelmed me with epicness. The writing was bold and raw, the world was dark and hopeful. For a debut, Cristin Terrill shows an ambitious set of work and I will be sure to read her future novels. And like I said at the beginning, read this!

5 Stars
The following two tabs change content below.

Melanie

Owner (and crazy nut) at YA Midnight Reads
Melanie is one of the totally fabulous bloggers at YA Midnight Reads. She's a 16 year old student from Melbourne, Australia. She is normally found binge watching TV series, reading , blogging, procrastinating or fangirling about how Percabeth is the best ship ever. She's also a lover of caps lock and uses it excessively.

Want more posts like this?

Subscribe via email to receive new posts on book reviews, bookish giveaways, discussions and more!

25 Responses to Review: All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill

  1. Celine says:

    *book shimmies*

    I’m so excited to read this! I’ve got an ARC of this too, and can’t wait to start it!
    Celine recently posted…Top Ten TuesdayMy Profile

  2. I’m on tour for this one, and I just can’t wait to read it. I’ve been holding off because I want to review it closer to the tour date, but I might just have to push it up anyway. The characters, plot and world sound phenomenal, Melanie…thank you so much for further piquing my interest!
    Melissa (i swim for oceans) recently posted…Top Ten Tuesday: The Best & Worst Book EndingsMy Profile

  3. I’m so glad you loved this, Mel! It sounds awesome! I need to get my hands on this! And, as always, AMAZING review!
    Stephanie B (Chasm of Books) recently posted…Big Thanks and a Beat the Heat UpdateMy Profile

  4. I’m so happy (and relieved!) that you enjoyed this, Mel! I completely agree with your review. I also loved that although this was primarily plot-driven, Terrill didn’t neglect her characters and their relationships. I was actually quite surprised by how emotionally invested I became! And although the ending wrapped up quite neatly, I can’t wait to see what the sequel will have in store for us. Fantastic review, lovely!
    Sam @ Realm of Fiction recently posted…Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite Beginnings & Endings in BooksMy Profile

  5. Jenni says:

    Booo it totally ate my comment.

    Umm… what did I say… I only skimmed the beginning of your review because I’ll be reading this one soon but you have me super excited for it now. I love that it got 5 boats, I need some epic reads in my life.
    Jenni recently posted…Mini-Me Reads – Candy and the CankersaurMy Profile

  6. Wow! Five stars, I saw the blurb for this a while back and decided to ignore it…time for a rethink. Great review, Mel.
    Katja @ YA’s the Word recently posted…Top Ten Tuesday #26My Profile

  7. EVERYONE MOVE OUT OF THE WAY MELANIE GAVE FIVE STARS I AM READING THIS BOOK RIGHT NOW. RIGHT. NOW. *falls over*

    Luckily, I’m starting this one soon! I’m so happy you loved it, the six main characters sounds interesting, maybe it has something to do with past and present versions of themselves, since I’m pretty sure this is a time travel book 😀 I’m usually not big on sci-fi, but this one looks so good, and I’m definitely in need of a good plot-driven book right now!

    Fantastic review, Melanie <33
    Eileen @ ***Singing and Reading in the Rain*** recently posted…Tuney Tuesday: Just Give Me a Reason by P!nk ft. Nate RuessMy Profile

    • Melanie says:

      ERMAHGERD YOU DO THE ‘<33' as well now too?! AWESOME. Now Aneeqah, you and I are commenting triplets, wahoo!!!

      TELL ME WHAT YOU THINK OF THIS WHEN YOU FINISH IT.

  8. Rachel says:

    I read your excellent review on Goodreads, Melanie! I’ll have to pick this book up with all the rave reviews it’s been getting across the board. Sounds like a time travel book actually done right. 🙂
    Rachel recently posted…Review & Giveaway: The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly BlackMy Profile

  9. VeganYANerds says:

    Wow, 5 stars! I know you don’t give them out too easily so this has made me reconsider this book. I got a copy in NYC but I gave it to another blogger because she really wanted it and I had zero interest in it. Then I came home and found a copy so I figured it was a sign I had to read it and now your review has me convinced!
    VeganYANerds recently posted…Zac & Mia by A.J BettsMy Profile

  10. Gayatri says:

    Wow! This book looks like a real winner all around. I have seen rave reviews for this book all over the blogging world and though I haven’t read many time travel novels I love a book based on it. I will definitely have to pick this one up !
    Gayatri recently posted…Waiting on Wednesday (3)My Profile

  11. Ohh, it seems that everything about this book us pure perfection, from the characters, the plot, and the worldbuilding. I remember being VERY determined to read it back when Sam reviewed, and now I’m even more sure I need to go buy a copy right now.
    I’m glad this was such a great reading experience for you, hon. Wonderful review!

  12. Alise says:

    I’m so glad you liked this one and that it lived up to the hype, it makes me all the more excited to read it! I like when there is a subplot as well, especially when the romance develops there instead of completely taking over the story.

    Alise @ Readers in Wonderland

  13. Pingback: Midnight Madness Newsletter (20) | YA Midnight Reads

  14. Carly Jayne says:

    Great review, I really want to read this one!

    🙂

    http://booktobasics.blogspot.co.uk/
    Carly Jayne recently posted…A Giveaway!My Profile

  15. Lynn K. says:

    I think I’ve commented on your GR but yeahhhh, your review convinced me I needed it. I read on Cristin’s FAQ that this is a duology, how was the ending of this book? Open ended?

  16. Hey Melanie, this is a fantastic review for All Our Yesterdays! I have just finished it myself and LOVED the whole time travel theme. It was very well done and not too confusing. And the three characters and the action was just intense!
    Jeann @ Happy Indulgence recently posted…Shooting Stars by H.D. Gordon Review: The Sorcerer Princess and the TigerMy Profile

  17. Louise E. G. says:

    Definitely need to pick up this book, sounds great!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge