By: Melanie | February 20, 2013 | (4) Comments

Review: Breathe by Sarah CrossanBreathe by Sarah Crossan
Series: Breathe, #1
Publisher: Bloomsbury Australia
Release Date: October 2, 2012
Genres: Dystopia, Science Fiction, YA
Pages: 384
Source: Received in exchange for review
Goodreads | Purchase

The world has no air. If you want to survive, you pay to breathe. But what if you can't? And what if you think everything could be different? Three teens will leave everything they know behind in Sarah Crossan's gripping and original dystopian teen novel of danger, longing, and glimmering hope that will appeal to fans of Patrick Ness and Veronica Roth.

National Book Award Finalist Kathleen Duey called Breathe "An amazing story! Sit down. Inhale. Now, while you still can." Ever since the Switch, when the oxygen levels plummeted and most of humanity died, the survivors have been protected in glass domes full of manufactured air. Protected . . . or trapped? Or controlled? Alina's a revolutionary who believes we can save the environment. Quinn's a Premium who's never had to worry about having enough air. His best friend, Bea, is an Auxiliary who's never worried about anything but having enough air. When the three cross paths, they will change everything.

Sarah Crossan's thrilling and provocative novel is about passion, about yearning for something better, and about breaking free for the very first time. The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books proclaims it an "action-packed dystopian series opener to watch out for."

Has anyone seen or read The Lorax? My little sister and I love that movie to bits. What I really enjoyed about The Lorax was how Dr. Seuss built a futuristic world about a life without trees or real, organic environments for children to observe. It opens their minds to a broader topic that we, as older people are endeavouring through. Well at least I hope me sister realised the vital-ness of the movie/book instead of the cute fluffy trees and the Lorax himself.

Okay, I hope I helped you recap on The Lorax because now, think of The Lorax as a young adult fiction/dystopian novel. Oh yes, Breathe is your next book to read because it not only teaches some realistic morals, it is filled with epicness and a beautiful adventure.

Before I get to the proper review, I want to have a teensy teeny bit of a rant. That cover is consummately downright gorgeous! It was probably what got me to read this book, as well as the hype, just those three silhouettes already make you think who the hey they might be. In a way, it paints an abstract picture of this dystopian world so I had this sort of image in my mind when heading into it.

For the first one or two chapters, I felt confused and like I was places randomly in the middle of the book with everything moving quickly and relationships/emotions already infused with the character. However, once everything was settled, I got my fangirl mode on and chose my teams and feelings towards each character.

Alina, I may as well start with her because she disappointed me the most. I went ahead deeming that Alina was going to be a strong, clear minded girl. Not really, I got a selfish girl that got someone killed because of it and someone who most definitely wasn’t strong enough to my standards. Maybe I set them too high? Oh well, it didn’t really affect the final outcome. Quinn, my thoughts about him was, “You are a moron!” Yet at the same time I was thinking, “Aww..you are so considerate towards Bea, I love you!” In the end, I just settled with the latter as is senses seemed to have kicked it about half way through. My most favourite character in Breathe has to go to Bea. She was strong, bit not reckless that she’d just kill someone yet not naive too. Awesome kick-ass female protagonist alert!!!

The romance was cute, well proportioned and heart wrenching. Bea and Quinn are just to amazing for words, they left me fangirling and squealing in my bed for more. Bea has green eyes. Nooo…way…! (Grow some of your own eyes Quinn!)

Breathe will stun you with it’s we defined characters, inspirational plot and brilliant writing. I recommend for dystopian lovers.

4 Stars
The following two tabs change content below.

Melanie

Owner (and crazy nut) at YA Midnight Reads
Melanie is one of the totally fabulous bloggers at YA Midnight Reads. She's a 16 year old student from Melbourne, Australia. She is normally found binge watching TV series, reading , blogging, procrastinating or fangirling about how Percabeth is the best ship ever. She's also a lover of caps lock and uses it excessively.

Want more posts like this?

Subscribe via email to receive new posts on book reviews, bookish giveaways, discussions and more!

4 Responses to Review: Breathe by Sarah Crossan

  1. Ben McMann says:

    I saw this at the library yesterday, I think it’s worth borrowing now since you liked it:) I love your blog design! I smell a giveaway….

  2. Ashley Knapp says:

    I just saw this the other day and wanted to read it! Now after reading your review I can’t wait! Not to mention the cover just screams read me!

    new follower!
    ashley
    nooksobooks.blogspot.com

  3. I can’t wait to read this book! It’s on my neverending TBR list!

    Jessica@Lovin’ Los Libros

    (New Follower)

  4. Kristin says:

    I just got this one on sale for my kindle the other way and I can’t wait to check it out, Great review, now I really want to read it now!

    Kristin @ Young Adult Book Haven

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge